Skip to content

Day Seven: Sunburn, Dresser and Work Starts Tomorrow!

June 15, 2009

06-14 Tennis 12I had the most amazing time visiting my roommate’s family in Southport, Conn. this weekend! I heard the traffic/movement in the city was pretty constricted today because of the National Puerto Rico Parade, so I decided to take my roommate up on her offer to spend the day in Connecticut with her. We had an amazing dinner with her family (I forgot how much I missed fresh oysters) and today, since the weather cleared up, we got to play some tennis and get some sun. I haven’t played tennis in about a year so it was definitely a rebuilding experience for me… Addie and I traded off taking action shots of all of us and I decided to post a few of the best ones.

After we finished with tennis (two hours! I’m going to hurt tomorrow!) we spent some time by the pool/beach. I’m now cherry red for my first day of work, and honestly I really don’t mind. Also- Addie’s parents let me borrow a dresser for the summer, so now I am no longer living out of suitcases. We stopped by Anthropologie on the way home and I picked up some little knobs on sale from $12 all the way to $2.95. I’ll take a pic of it once it’s all put together and pretty.

06-14 Tennis 16 06-14 Tennis 04

Southport, along with the neighboring, I don’t know, 20, towns is absolutely beautiful. It seems like everything is walking distance and next to the harbor. Addie told me about her dream house, a “little” yellow house right on the water, complete with a finished garage, guesthouse and- here’s the kicker- its very own lighthouse. I’m still kind of wondering how she considers that “little.” Also, I noticed that everyone seems to have matching dogs. For example, Addie’s family has two matching black labs. My cousins, also from Connecticut, have matching yellow labs. While we were taking a walk yesterday, Kallie, Addie and I spotted matching yorkies, french bulldogs (why, hello Martha) and poodles, along with a few that I’m probably forgetting. Not sure if that’s just a northern (or Connecticut-specific) thing though.

Got to get to bed now- early day tomorrow!

No comments yet

Leave a comment